Rokform 18x: MagMax magnetic mounting, September.
18 magnetic golf rangefinders compared on which side the magnet sits, what strength brands actually publish, and the safety warning in three manuals.
Magnets are now standard, which makes the interesting questions different from the ones every roundup asks. Our universal magnetic phone mounts piece runs into the same gaps on the phone side.
Not whether a rangefinder has one, but which side it is on, because a right-side magnet on a left-side cart bar means you read the display upside down. Not how strong it is, because nobody publishes gauss and only one brand's patent hints at a figure. And not whether it is convenient, because it plainly is, but what it costs: the industry's best stabilized rangefinder has no magnet at all, and a cart magnet is the single most common way expensive rangefinders get abandoned.
Here are 18 with magnets built in, sorted by price, with the placement and grade wherever a manufacturer publishes it.
Table of Contents
- What Brands Actually Publish
- Premium Magnetic
- Mid-Range Magnetic
- Budget Magnetic
- Good Rangefinders Without A Magnet
- The Warnings In The Manuals
- What Rokform Is Bringing To This In September
- Final Thoughts
TL;DR
- Bushnell and Shot Scope both put the magnet on the right side only, which their manuals state.
- Vortex Anarch+ is the only unit with magnets on both sides, so it docks either way.
- Only Pinned and Stripebird publish a magnet grade, both N52. Nobody publishes gauss.
- Nikon leaves the magnet off its stabilized flagship, reportedly to protect the stabilization mechanism.
- Three manuals warn about pacemakers, credit cards, watches and hearing aids. Blue Tees advises 3 feet.
- The Rokform Golf Range Finder 18x lands September 2026 with MagMax magnetic mounting built in.
What Brands Actually Publish
Almost nothing measurable, which makes shopping on magnet strength impossible.
No manufacturer in golf publishes a gauss rating or a pull force. The only quantified figures come sideways. Bushnell's own BITE patent describes a rearward pyramid convexity mating to a concave receptacle requiring 2 to 5 pounds to separate depending on direction, and Frogger's aftermarket latch publishes a 3 pound quick-draw release.
Two brands publish a grade. Pinned uses N52 and calls it the strongest on the market. Stripebird's rangefinder says N52 while its wrap product page says N50 in one place and N52 in another.

Which Side Matters More Than How Strong
Two manuals state placement explicitly and both put it in the same place. Bushnell's Tour V6 Shift manual describes a powerful BITE magnet incorporated into the right side of the housing. Shot Scope's Pro L2 manual describes an extra strong magnet on the right-hand side.
For a right-handed golfer reaching from the driver's seat to a bar on their right, that works. Reach across to the far rail and the display faces away from you. Vortex is the only brand solving this, with magnets on both sides of the Anarch+, which means it docks correctly on either rail without thinking about it. Our best golf rangefinders guide covers the wider comparison.
| Brand | Magnet placement | Grade published |
|---|---|---|
| Vortex Anarch+ | Both sides | No |
| Bushnell, all BITE models | Right side, stated in manual | No |
| Shot Scope Pro L2 | Right side, stated in manual | No |
| Blue Tees | One face, two plates | Neodymium, no grade |
| Pinned Golf Prism+ | Not specified | N52 |
| Stripebird Pro Tour SB-15 | Not specified | N52 dual |
| Everyone else | Not specified | No |
Premium Magnetic
Five devices above roughly $400 where the magnet sits alongside everything else you are paying for.
1. Vortex Anarch+
$599.99 MSRP with the original Anarch around $399.99. Magnets on both sides, 6x with a 22mm objective, image stabilization with a menu toggle, 1,400 yards reflective, 450 to a flag, roughly 4,000 ranging cycles per CR123.
The unlimited lifetime transferable warranty needs no receipt and covers damage regardless of cause, which is the only warranty in golf that would pay if the magnet let go and the device hit a cart path.
2. Bushnell Pro X3+ LINK
$599.99, 7x, IPX7, BITE magnet on the right side, and the only genuinely locking slope switch in golf. Dual Display toggles between red and black readouts across four brightness steps.

3. Bushnell Tour Hybrid
$499.99, 6x, 5 to 1,300 yards, IPX6, 247 grams, BITE magnet, and laser plus GPS distances shown together so a blind shot is not a dead end.
4. Garmin Approach Z30
$499.99, CR2 with battery life quoted up to a year, built-in magnetic cart mount, and Range Relay pushing the pin location straight to a paired Garmin watch.
5. Precision Pro Titan Elite
$399.99, magnetic cart mount, 18mm eye relief, GPS distances in the viewfinder, Find My Precision Pro, three year warranty and no subscription of any kind. Precision Pro also publishes that Bluetooth cuts battery from roughly 40 rounds to 10, which nobody else discloses.

Mid-Range Magnetic
Six devices between roughly $150 and $400.
6. Bushnell Tour V7 Shift
$399.99, 6x with a 24mm objective, 5 to 1,300 yards, IPX6, 255 grams, BITE on the right side, dual colour OLED showing actual and adjusted yardages together.
7. Bushnell Tour V6
$299.99, 6x, 241 grams, extra long 16mm eye relief in Bushnell's own words, BITE magnet. The value pick in the current Bushnell line.
8. Nikon Coolshot 50i GII
$299.95, 6x, 176 grams, 17mm eye relief with a published diopter range, roughly 13,000 actuations per CR2, and Nikon states a strong magnet is built into the body.
Nikon fitted this one precisely because it is not stabilized, which is the tradeoff covered below.

9. Blue Tees Series 3 Max+
$199.98, 6x, 900 yards, IPX4, USB-C, and a magnetic strip using two neodymium plates on one face. Three separate display elements show distance, adjusted distance and slope angle at once.
Acquisition is the weakness, with MyGolfSpy finding it needed five or six attempts past 150 to 200 yards against a backdrop.
10. Precision Pro NX10
$279.99, 6x, 400 yard flag lock, magnetic cart mount, 18mm eye relief tying Nikon's flagship, three year warranty and a wide circular reticle that forgives an imperfect hold.
11. Callaway XLS
$299.99, and Callaway gives its magnet a name: Magnahold, described as a strong internal magnet. The CSi Pro at $199.99 carries integrated magnets under no particular branding.
Budget Magnetic
Four devices under $200 where the magnet arrives anyway.

12. Pinned Golf Prism+
$199.99 down from $259.99, 7x, 1,200 yards, and N52 magnets that Pinned calls the strongest on the market. One of only two brands publishing a grade.
Acquisition is quick, the haptic is soft, and the slope reading gives an adjusted number without showing how much slope it applied.
13. MILESEEY PF260 Tour
$169.99, 6X, 1,100 yards, 350 yard flag lock, IP54, a magnetic mount MILESEEY describes as a Bite-style mount, and a green LED showing slope state. MILESEEY publishes 0.3 second and 0.8 second acquisition timings.

14. Stripebird Pro Tour SB-15
$159.99, dual neodymium N52, and the other brand publishing a grade. Ships with a lanyard and a carabiner alongside the magnets.
15. REDTIGER GolfVue Series 1
$109.99, 7X, 1,200 yards, accurate to half a yard, IP54, built-in magnetic stripe plus a free magnetic belt clip in the box, which is unusual generosity at this price.
REDTIGER states outright the IP54 rating is unsuited to rainy or foggy rounds.
16. WOSPORTS L14
$89.99 to $129.99 depending on configuration, 7X, up to 1,500 yards, 350 yard target lock, built-in magnetic stripe, external slope switch, two year warranty.
Read the switch carefully. WOSPORTS inverts the convention, with red showing meaning slope is off.
Good Rangefinders Without A Magnet
Two devices that skip it, one for a reason worth understanding.
17. Nikon Coolshot ProIII Stabilized
$499.95, 6x, optical lens shift stabilizing the image and the laser, 18mm eye relief. No cart magnet, and a reviewer reported this is by design because a magnet would interfere with the stabilization mechanism.
Treat that carefully. It is a journalist statement rather than a published Nikon engineering position, and Vortex fits magnets to both sides of a stabilized unit without apparent issue. So the constraint is specific to Nikon's implementation, not to stabilization generally, but the tradeoff is real if Nikon is what you want.
18. Leupold GX-6c
6x, 450 yards to a flag, image and laser stabilization, three selectable reticles, more than 4,000 actuations. Leupold's GX manuals make no mention of a magnet and instead ship a lanyard with a dedicated attachment point, which is the older approach and better for walking golfers.

The Warnings In The Manuals
Three manufacturers publish explicit magnet safety warnings and they deserve a read, because the marketing never mentions any of this.
Blue Tees warns that the neodymium magnet could affect pacemakers and implanted heart defibrillators, that it may permanently lose adhesive force above 175 degrees Fahrenheit, and that strong fields can damage televisions, laptops, hard drives, credit and ATM cards, data storage media, mechanical watches, hearing aids and speakers. Blue Tees recommends keeping magnets at least 3 feet from those devices.
Bushnell carries the same warning family and adds a physical one: magnets have fields strong enough to pinch skin and fingers.
Nikon goes furthest. Users of medical devices such as cardiac pacemakers should not use this product, phrased as a prohibition rather than a distance recommendation, alongside advice to keep credit cards and electronic media away.
| Risk | Flagged by | Practical guidance |
|---|---|---|
| Pacemakers and defibrillators | Bushnell, Blue Tees, Nikon | Nikon says do not use at all |
| Credit and ATM cards | All three | Not in the same pocket as a wallet |
| Mechanical watches | Bushnell, Blue Tees | Keep separated |
| Hearing aids | Bushnell, Blue Tees | Keep separated |
| Heat above 175°F | Blue Tees | Do not leave in a hot car |
| Pinched fingers | Bushnell | Mind the dock |
| Phones | Nobody | Solid-state storage is not at risk |

The Phone Question
No manufacturer publishes a phone-specific warning. The language about laptops and hard drives dates from spinning platter storage, and modern smartphones use solid-state memory that a rangefinder magnet will not disturb, though compass calibration can be briefly upset.
Our piece on magnets and smartphones covers this properly, and the short answer is that the wallet in your pocket is the thing at genuine risk, not the phone next to it.

Does A Magnet Hold On A Bumpy Path
No brand publishes a shear rating, which is the number that actually matters. Bushnell's patent describes 2 to 5 pounds of separation force depending on direction, and direction is the operative word: pulling straight off is harder than sliding sideways.
Cart paths generate sideways force, not straight pull. That is why Frogger built a motion-sensing dynamic lock into a mechanical alternative, and why plenty of golfers still pocket the device between shots on a rough course. Treat the magnet as a convenience rather than a restraint. Our fun golf accessories roundup covers what else rides along on the cart.
The Magnet Is Also How You Lose It
A magnetically mounted rangefinder spends four hours on a rental cart and then you walk away from the cart. That is the whole mechanism, and it is why a magnet is simultaneously the best convenience feature in the category and its biggest liability.
Precision Pro builds a 30% replacement discount for a lost rangefinder into its standing guarantee, and Spigen designed an AirTag slot into a rangefinder wrap. A magnet keeps the device where you can reach it and removes the one thing that would remind you to pick it up, which is your hand. Our top golf cart accessories lineup and golf cart phone holders breakdown cover the rest of the cart setup, and our golf etiquette guide covers the end-of-round habits that prevent most of it.

What Rokform Is Bringing To This In September
Magnets are what Rokform has been doing longer than anyone in this list, and the Rokform Golf Range Finder 18x arrives September 2026 with MagMax magnetic mounting built into the body.
It snaps to cart rails and any MagMax magnetic surface, running on the same system as our existing mounts, so if you already have MagMax surfaces on a cart or in a vehicle the landing spot is there. No sleeve to buy, no wrap covering the slope switch, no dongle to attach.
Then the answer to the loss problem the magnet creates. Apple Find My and Android Find Hub tracking are built in, so a rangefinder left docked on a rental cart at the turn is locatable from your phone in seconds. Nothing else in this list can do that, and it is the honest counterweight to the convenience a magnet buys.
8x to 18x adjustable magnification is a category first, and no other golf laser rangefinder offers that range. Flag lock with vibration confirms the pin the moment you lock it, the 1,200 yard range reads anything visible on the course, the tournament-legal slope toggle covers practice and competition on one device, and IPX6 handles dew and rain delays. Two year warranty, 60 day money back, $499.99.
Reserve yours ahead of the September launch: Rokform Golf Range Finder 18x. Swing hard, make putts.
Final Thoughts
Buy on placement, not on strength, because strength is unpublished across the entire category and placement is stated in two manuals and inferable from the rest. A right-side magnet suits a right-handed rider reaching a near rail, and both-sides suits everyone.
Then decide whether you want a magnet at all. The best magnetic golf rangefinder for a cart golfer is close to any of the eighteen above, and for a walker a magnet is dead weight that buys nothing, since there is no steel within reach for four hours. A lanyard-friendly Leupold or a belt clip serves that golfer better. Our golf accessories every golfer needs list covers the rest of the setup either way.

